New EITI Chair Fredrik Reinfeldt

New EITI Chair Fredrik Reinfeldt

This article originally appeared on the website of the EITI International Secretariat (

Fredrik Reinfeldt, new EITI chair, thanks the EITI community for the confidence placed in him.

On becoming the EITI chair, Fredrik Reinfeldt expressed gratitude for being given the trust to chair the EITI. He said he would use all the experience he had gained from heading a coalition government for eight years to serve the three constituencies of countries, companies and civil society organisations.

Fredrik noted that the EITI Members Meeting held on 23 February was boycotted by the Publish What You Pay coalition. Following the Member’s Meeting, Fredrik held a number of meetings with stakeholders including with civil society board members and representatives for Publish What You Pay. It provided an opportunity to acknowledge that the circumstances surrounding the Members’ Meeting was unfortunate. He said that everyone recognised that it is important to learn from recent events to refine EITI governance and work more closely together.

The EITI is implemented by 51 countries, with the Dominican Republic and Germany having become members on 23 February here in Lima, Peru. Fredrik Reinfeldt was the Prime Minister of Sweden 2008-2014. In addition to electing Fredrik, a whole new board was elected by the Members’ Meeting, including five board members representing civil society, following nominations from PWYP.